Version Française

Hello hello, Sarah here, and its my turn to post. Yes, I know that this is supposed to be a blog of autobio comics and that what I’m posting isn’t a comic. It’s more of a picto-essay and I’ve been making quite a few of these lately because, well, sometimes I feel like writing more than I feel like drawing. Probably next time I post here, it will be a comic and it will be substantially shorter. But for now, here is a pretty long essay with some drawings done on-site in Angoulême.

Bye!

-Sarah

www.sarahglidden.com

4 Responses to “Version Française”


  1. 1 Ben April 4, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Hi Sarah,

    As a Parisian who has lived in NY for more than 5 years, I absolutely understand what you are talking about. You are putting into words (and drawings) feelings I’ve felt and discussed for a long time. I’ve known the french fascination for New York, I’ve lived it, and I’ve come full circle, finally being drawn away from the big city. I would strongly encourage you to go back to London, now that you’ve understood the language was your drawback there, I believe you can enjoy it a lot.

    Congrats on this piece, it’s really powerful.
    Ben.

  2. 2 Kenny April 6, 2012 at 9:41 am

    I loved this piece. On the surface, unruffled but look beneath and it’s very personal. I live in London, having ‘run away’ from my real home in Edinburgh many years ago for reasons I wouldn’t even have recognised then. I’ve bored of London and would love to move to the countryside. But at least in London I can hide in plain sight. In my experience the desire to go home again diminishes with time to the extent I wouldn’t much care where I lived now as long as the people who knew me once weren’t there.

  3. 3 John April 7, 2012 at 2:42 am

    Sarah – I discovered “How to Understand Israel …” recently and liked it so much that I looked for more and found this site. I love your style ( just the right amount of detail ) and skill at drawing and shading. I look forward to future inspiring works. – John from Andover, Massachusetts

  4. 4 Anna April 11, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    I loved this, your writing style is so compelling. Looking forward to more.


Leave a Reply

